Distinguished Fellows

The Council of Distinguished Fellows is constituted of internationally respected scholars, professors, clergy and artists.

Leaders in the world of academia and the arts, members of the Council stand in support of the College, provide advice on key issues in the founding process, and participate in the vibrant and rigorous community of learning that will define the College once it begins instruction.


Kenneth G. Elzinga, Ph.D.

Robert C. Taylor Professor of Economics, University of Virginia


Os Guinness, D.Phil.

Founder, Trinity Forum; Senior Fellow, East/West Institute


Thomas Howard, Ph.D.

Professor of English Emeritus, St. John’s Seminary, Archdiocese of Boston, MA


Walter M. Hooper, M.A.

Trustee of the Lewis Estate; former secretary to C.S. Lewis

Peter Kreeft, Ph.D.

Professor of Philosophy, Boston College and The King’s College, NY


George M. Marsden, Ph.D.

Francis A. McAnaney Professor Emeritus of History, University of Notre Dame; Scholar in Residence, Calvin College


Wilfred M. McClay, Ph.D.

SunTrust Bank Chair of Excellence in Humanities, University of Tennesse at Chattanooga; Senior Fellow, Ethics and Public Policy Center, Washington, D.C.


Richard J. Mouw, Ph.D.

President and Professor of Christian Philosophy and Ethics, Fuller Theological Seminary


Armand M. Nicholi Jr., M.D.

Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard University


Robert Orr, M.D., C.M.

Professor of Medical Ethics, Loma Linda University; Professor of Bioethics, the Graduate College of Union University, Albany, NY; Professor of Bioethics, Trinity International University


Reverend Dr. John Polkinghorne, KBE, FRS

Knight of the British Empire; Fellow of the Royal Society; former President, Queen’s College, Cambridge University; Founder, Society of Ordained Scientists


Robert Smyth

Producing Artistic Director, Lamb’s Players Theatre, San Diego


Edward G. Sparrow, LL.B.

Dean Emeritus, St. John’s College, Annapolis


Eleonore Stump, Ph.D.

Robert J. Henle, S.J. Chair of Philosophy, Saint Louis University


Earl F. Palmer, D.D.

Pastor Emeritus, University Presbyterian Church, Seattle, WA


Paul C. Vitz, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology and Senior Scholar, Institute for Psychological Sciences, Arlington, VA; Professor Emeritus of Psychology, New York University


The Most Reverend Metropolitan Kallistos Ware of Diokleia, D.Phil

Orthodox Metropolitan of Diokleia and Fellow Emeritus, Pembroke College, Oxford


Francis Warner, Ph.D.

Lord White Fellow Emeritus, St. Peter’s College, Oxford; Residendial Honorary Fellow for life, St. Catharine’s College, Cambridge


Dallas Willard, Ph.D. (b. 1935 – d. 2013)

Professor of Philosophy, University of Southern California; Senior Fellow, Trinity Forum


Jean Bethke Elshtain, Ph.D. (b. 1941 – d. 2013)

Laura Spelmen Rockefeller Professor of Social and Political Ethics, University of Chicago Divinity School; Leavey Chair in the Foundations of American Freedom, Georgetown University